Department of Protocol and Consular Affairs

Department’s mandates

  • To extend protocol hospitality services to the guests of the government
  • To provide consular and passport services to Bhutanese including those living abroad 
  • To facilitate diplomatic privileges and immunities for diplomatic missions and international organizations.
Click here to view past Chief of Protocol

Divisions and their mandates

The Department of Protocol (DoP) comprises Protocol Affairs Division; and Consular Affairs Division.

Protocol Affairs Division  

The division’s mandates will be uploaded soon.

Name Responsibilities Contact details
Ms. Ugen Chozom Chief of Protocol
Mr. Karma Phuntsho
Asst. Chief of Protocol
Mr. Lotey Tenzin Sr. Protocol Officer
Mr. Wangchuk Protocol Officer
Mr. Kinley Dorji Protocol Officer
Ms. Yangchen Lhamo Asst. Protocol Officer

Consular Affairs Division
The Consular Affairs Division provides consular services to Bhutanese living and travelling abroad, particularly those in difficult/emergency situations. The services rendered include issuance of passports/travel documents; attestation services; and issuance of travel advisories and notifications, as required. Consular services are also extended to the Missions and International Organisations in Bhutan so that these agencies are able to effectively fulfil their mandate in Bhutan. 

Name Responsibilities Contact details
Mr. Sangye Chewang
Chief of Division
Ms. Sonam Pelzom Dy. Chief of Division
Ms. Kinga Lhamo Dy. Chief of Division

Support Staff

Name Responsibilities  Contact details
Ms. Pema Wangmo Personal Assistant
Ms. Ngawang Pem Sr. Administrative Assistant 
Ms. Tshewang Pelden Sr. Personal Assistant
Ms. Dorji Wangmo Sr. Personal Assistant
Ms. Pema Choden Sr. Administrative Assistant
Ms. Sonam Wangmo Administrative Assistant
Mr. Sangay Phuntsho Administrative Assistant
Mr. Tshering Jamtsho Sr. Administrative Assistant
Ms. Kinley Budha Diplomatic Mailbag Incharge